Hourglass (2012)
“Ultimately, there’s resignation. There’s acceptance, and healing, and going beyond it.” - Carolyn Dorfman on Hourglass

Created in 1994 and reimagined in 2012, Hourglass is a solo revealing a women’s internal journey of wanting, waiting, anticipation, frustration, defeat, and finally, acceptance. It is set to a commissioned score by renowned cellist, Jessie Reagen Mann, with an enveloping electronic soundscape by Brian Noll.


Choreography by Carolyn Dorfman
Commissioned score and performance by Jessie Reagen Mann
Soundscape by Bryan Noll
Costumes by Anna-Alisa Belous

Hourglass was made possible in part by a 2011 Choreographic Fellowship from the New Jersey State Council on the Arts (NJSCA), and a “Live Music for Dance” grant from New Music USA.

↑ Top of Page